HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Main » General Discussion (Forum) » Why did Mueller say that ...

Wed Jul 24, 2019, 09:32 PM

Why did Mueller say that going against the olc opinion would be unconstitutional?

I am not a lawyer so I dont understand the reason. I thought that the only body that could rule about the constitutionality of something is the supreme court ?

The department of justice policy about not indicting a sitting president is just the result of a legal analysis by a team of olc lawyers. It has not been tested in court ( as far as I know) .
I find it hard to believe that the executive branch can just draft opinions and declare that part of the constitution. What am I missing ?

16 replies, 881 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Always highlight: 10 newest replies | Replies posted after I mark a forum
Replies to this discussion thread
Arrow 16 replies Author Time Post
Reply Why did Mueller say that going against the olc opinion would be unconstitutional? (Original post)
drray23 Jul 2019 OP
PoliticAverse Jul 2019 #1
FBaggins Jul 2019 #2
drray23 Jul 2019 #5
FBaggins Jul 2019 #7
Nevermypresident Jul 2019 #10
drray23 Jul 2019 #11
FBaggins Jul 2019 #12
drray23 Jul 2019 #13
FBaggins Jul 2019 #16
The Velveteen Ocelot Jul 2019 #3
Claritie Pixie Jul 2019 #4
drray23 Jul 2019 #6
Claritie Pixie Jul 2019 #8
elleng Jul 2019 #9
Hermit-The-Prog Jul 2019 #14
EffieBlack Jul 2019 #15

Response to drray23 (Original post)

Wed Jul 24, 2019, 09:39 PM

1. Ultimately the Supreme Court is the final authority but everyone can have their own belief...

and act accordingly.

Mueller was working under the DOJ and the OLC opinion is the (current) official policy belief on the matter.

(A similar issue is occurring now and has in the past with the issue of the DOJ, criminal contempt of Congress and
executive privilege).