HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Topics » Foreign Affairs & National Security » Veterans (Group) » Ohio village threatens Ir...

Mon Jul 21, 2014, 06:22 AM

Ohio village threatens Iraq war vet with $150 fine and loss of his therapy ducks

http://www.rawstory.com/rs/2014/07/20/ohio-village-threatens-iraq-war-vet-with-150-fine-and-loss-of-his-therapy-ducks/



Ohio village threatens Iraq war vet with $150 fine and loss of his therapy ducks
By Tom Boggioni
Sunday, July 20, 2014 22:46 EDT

An Iraq war veteran, living in West Lafayette, Ohio, is facing a $150 fine and the possibility that he must get rid of his 14 therapy ducks after running afoul of of a village ordinance banning the keeping of farm animals.

Darin Welker, 36, acquired the ducks after serving a year in Iraq, returning with a back injury and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), reports the Marion Star.

“I came back with a major back injury, and between the back injury and the PTSD that I also brought home, there were numerous problems,” Welker said.

The VA paid for a surgery on Welker’s back but did not approve the physical therapy recommended by his surgeon, nor did it provide mental therapy, Welker said.

--

http://www.marionstar.com/article/20140720/NEWS01/307200006/Ohio-village-says-veteran-s-therapy-ducks-aren-t-allowed?nclick_check=1

The local newspaper's take on this story mention that the Coshocton City Council approved a change to a law last year that allows "one pot-bellied pig" per household inside city limits.

I think a letter to the Mayor is in order --> http://www.cityofcoshocton.com/

2 replies, 1669 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Always highlight: 10 newest replies | Replies posted after I mark a forum
Replies to this discussion thread
Arrow 2 replies Author Time Post
Reply Ohio village threatens Iraq war vet with $150 fine and loss of his therapy ducks (Original post)
unhappycamper Jul 2014 OP
James48 Jul 2014 #1
unhappycamper Jul 2014 #2

Response to unhappycamper (Original post)

Mon Jul 21, 2014, 06:44 AM

1. Wrong city

The city in which the veteran lives is not Coshocton, it is West Layfette Ohio.

Here is the web link to the village of West Lafette:

http://www.westlafayettevillage.com/

The Mayor is Jack Patterson:

MAYOR
Jack L. Patterson
CONTACT
113 East Railroad St
West Lafayette, OH 43845
(740)-545-7834


the City Council members are:


Council Members
Roger Warne PHONE: 740-545-9080 EMAIL: rogerwarne@coshoctoncounty.net

Ronald Lusk PHONE: 740-545-7335 EMAIL: ronaldlusk@coshoctoncounty.net

Rich Wheeler 740-610-3373 EMAIL: richwheeler@coshoctoncounty.net

Tim Cheney 740-545-9992 EMAIL: timcheney@coshoctoncounty.net

Craig Bordenkircher 740-545-5048 EMAIL: craigbordenkircher@coshoctoncounty.net

Christie Maurer PHONE: 740-545-9370 EMAIL: christiemaurer@coshoctoncounty.net


Have at it.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to James48 (Reply #1)

Mon Jul 21, 2014, 06:49 AM

2. Thanks for the info. n/t

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink

Reply to this thread